Almaty Rally for Women's Rights

Adamdar news DOCA Kazakhstan

Almaty Rally for Women's Rights

September 28, 2019

Almaty, Kazakhstan

On September 28, the feminist group KAZFEM organized a rally for women's rights, gender equality and against violence against women in Almaty in the park behind the Sary-Arka cinema.

According to the organizers of the rally, KAZFEM had filed 36 previous applications for rallies for gender equality and against domestic and sexual violence, but all requests were refused by Almaty city authorities. Similar requests in other Kazakhstani cities were also refused and banned by the authorities. In Kazakhstan, permission must be granted for public assemblies, as opposed to other formats where authorities must simply be informed of plans for large-scale public action. This, according to human rights organizations, violates the Constitution of Kazakhstan, UN pacts and international laws on the observance of basic democratic freedoms, ratified by the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Some speakers criticized the lack of freedom of assembly and the “permission-based” format of rallies in Kazakhstan. Activist Arina Osinovskaya said from the stage: “It’s not normal that we are standing here instead of walking down the street somewhere in the center of the city. I think that next time, this should change!”
 

Arina Osinovskaya

 

 

KAZFEM had held previous civil and art events for gender equality and against violence against women. Some KAZFEM participants also participated in actions of solidarity and support for civil and art activists who were detained and arrested in the spring and summer of 2019 in Almaty, Astana and other cities of Kazakhstan.

 

 

Dozens of people came to support the KAZFEM rally, including participants in various civic, democratic and art groups and organizations. Notable figures in the activist community present at the rally included Aidana Aidarkhan, Aigul-Viola Nurbolatova, Alnur Ilyashev, Temujin Duysen and others.

 

 

Speeches were given in Russian and Kazakh about recognizing the basic principles of gender equality and ensuring the safety of women and girls, as well as addressing influential cases related to the murders of women and girls, and numerous cases of domestic and sexual violence against women and children.

 

 

At the end of the rally, representatives of KAZFEM read aloud their resolution, which voiced demands for respect for gender equality, security for girls and women, including the requirement to return beatings to the criminal code of Kazakhstan, the abolishment of the option “reconciliation of the parties” in legal cases of rape, and other items providing safety for women and guaranteeing punishment for criminals. Speakers also raised issues of domestic violence and manifestations of obscurantism, spoke about the problems of women in the prisons, and spoke out for the decriminalization of prostitutes. The requests were addressed to the Parliament of the Republic of Kazakhstan, the President of Kazakhstan, Akimat and Maslikhat of Almaty.

 

Veronika Fonova

 

“Today in Kazakhstan, according to official statistics, four women and one child will be raped... And this is only official data, that is, we can’t say how true it is. Perhaps it’s twice as much, or three, or dozens. And this is really scary, ”

 — Veronika Fonova, one of the members of the KAZFEM group, speaking from the stage.

The September 28 rally was the first "authorized" feminist rally in the entire 28-year history of independent Kazakhstan.

Kazakhstan is the leader among the post-Soviet countries in the number of recorded crimes related to sexual violence against women and children. According to UN Women, about 400 women die every year in Kazakhstan as a result of domestic violence. According to the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan, the number of domestic and family-related crimes in 2018 increased by 103.7%. According to the General Prosecutor's Office of the Republic of Kazakhstan, statistics on violence against women have increased in Kazakhstan. Compared to 2015, crime against women and children increased by 90%.

Published: September 28, 2019

Алматинский митинг за права женщин

Adamdar news DOCA Казахстан

Алматинский митинг за права женщин

28 сентября, 2019 год

Алматы, Казахстан

Феминистская группа KAZFEM организовала митинг за женские права, гендерное равноправие и против насилия над женщинами. Митинг состоялся 28 сентября в Алматы в сквере за кинотеатром «Сары-Арка».

По словам организаторок митинга, ранее KAZFEM подали 36 заявок на проведение митингов за гендерное равноправие и против бытового и сексуального насилия, но на все запросы получали отказ от городских властей Алматы. Аналогичные запросы в других городах Казахстана также получали отказы и запреты со стороны властей. В Казахстане действует разрешительный, а не уведомительный характер проведения митинга, что по мнению правозащитных организаций нарушает Конституцию Казахстана, пакты ООН и международные законы о соблюдении базовых демократических свобод, ратифицированные Республикой Казахстан.

Некоторые спикерки выступили с критикой отсутствия свободы собраний и «разрешительного» формата митингов в Казахстане. Активистка Арина Осиновская со сцены заявила: «Это не нормально, что мы стоим здесь, а не идем где-то в центре города по улице и я думаю, что в следующий раз мы должны это изменить!»

Арина Осиновская

 

 

Ранее представительницы группы KAZFEM проводили гражданские и художественные акции за равноправие полов и против насилия над женщинами. Некоторые участницы KAZFEM также участвовали в акциях солидарности и поддержки гражданских и арт-активистов, которые подвергались задержаниям и арестам весной и летом 2019 года в Алматы, Астане и других городах Казахстана. 

 

 

Поддержать митинг KAZFEM пришли десятки людей, в том числе участники различных гражданских, демократических и арт-групп и организаций. Среди поддержавших участниц митинга были замечены гражданские и арт-активисты: Айдана Айдархан, Айгуль-Виола Нурболатова, Альнур Ильяшев, Тэмуджин Дуйсен и другие.

 

 

Спикерки выступали на русском и казахском языке. В выступлениях поднимались вопросы соблюдения базовых принципов равноправия полов и обеспечения безопасности женщин и девушек, а также рассматривались резонансные случаи, связанные с убийствами женщин и девушек, и многочисленные случаи бытового и сексуального насилия против женщин и детей.

 

 

В конце митинга представительницы KAZFEM зачитали резолюцию митинга, в которой прозвучали требования соблюдения гендерного равноправия, обеспечения безопасности для девушек и женщин, в том числе требования о возвращении побоев в Уголовный кодекс Казахстана, об отмене опции «примирения сторон» при изнасилованиях и другие пункты, обеспечивающие безопасность для женщин и гарантирующие наказание для преступников. Также выступающие активистки поднимали вопросы бытового насилия и проявлений мракобесия, говорили о проблемах женщин в колониях и декриминализации проституированных женщин. Требования адресованы парламенту Республики Казахстан, президенту Казахстана, акимату и маслихату Алматы.

 

Вероника Фонова

 

«Сегодня в Казахстане, если верить официальной статистике, будут изнасилованы четыре женщины и один ребёнок… И это только официальные данные, то есть мы не можем сказать, насколько они правдивы. Возможно, они в два раза больше, или в три, или в десятки. И это действительно страшно,»

 — сказала со сцены Вероника Фонова, одна из участниц группы KAZFEM.

Митинг 28 сентября стал первым «разрешенным» митингом феминисток за всю 28-летнюю историю независимого Казахстана. 

Казахстан является лидером среди постосоветских стран по числу зарегистрированных преступлений, связанных с сексуальным насилием против женщин и детей. По данным «ООН Женщины», в Казахстане вследствие домашнего насилия ежегодно погибают около 400 женщин. По данным МВД РК, количество преступлений, совершенных в сфере семейно-бытовых отношений, в 2018 году выросло на 103,7%. По сведениям Генеральной прокуратуры РК, в Казахстане возросла статистика насилия над женщинами. В сравнении с 2015 годом преступность в отношении женщин и детей возросла на 90%.

Опубликовано: 28 сентября, 2019 год